Maud Lewis and the Nova Scotia Terroir

Venue He Xiangning Art Museum
Curator

Sarah Fillmore is Chief Curator and Deputy Director, Programs of the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. Having joined the Gallery in 2005, Fillmore oversees the provincial art collection as well as the Gallery’s acquisition, interpretation, education, conservation and exhibition programs.
Fillmore is a champion of emerging Canadian artists, with an interest in Atlantic Canadian art within national and international contexts. She has curated over 40 group and solo exhibitions, including the retrospective exhibition of Canadian abstract painter, Jacques Hurtubise; Lisa Lipton: STOP@forever; Skin: the Seduction of Surface; Forces of Nature; The Last Frontier, and, from 2002 to 2015, the annual Sobey Art Award. She co-curated Hanson and Sonnenberg: The Way Things Are with David Diviney (Art Gallery of Nova Scotia); Graeme Patterson’s Secret Citadel with Melissa Bennett (Art Gallery of Hamilton); and the touring retrospective and accompanying publication of Canadian realist painter Mary Pratt, with Mireille Eagan and Caroline Stone (The Rooms, Newfoundland). Recent projects include a retrospective of Canadian painter Marion Wagschal, presented at the Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, as well as a solo exhibition of Halifax-based painter Emily Falencki and I will Meet you in the Sun, Montreal-based printmaker Mitch Mitchell’s large-scale print installation. She most recently co-curated a major retrospective of photographer Thaddeus Holownia’s work titled The Nature of Nature.

From 2007 to 2015, Fillmore was chair of the jury and curator of the Sobey Art Award, Canada’s premier contemporary art award for an artist 40 or under. She is author of numerous catalogue and journal essays and has lectured across the country, and internationally.

RELATED EXHIBITIONS

closes in 3 weeks EXHIBITION Maud Lewis and the Nova Scotia Terroir
微信图片_20191212160126

RELATED EXHIBITIONS

closes in 3 weeks EXHIBITION Maud Lewis and the Nova Scotia Terroir

莫德·刘易斯与加拿大新斯科舍省当代艺术展

策展人讲座

地点 何香凝美术馆

主讲人:莎拉·菲尔莫尔

时间:2019年12月14日10:30——12:00

地点:何香凝美术馆学术报告厅

活动免费,欢迎参加!

主讲人(策展人)

莎拉·菲尔莫尔(Sarah Fillmore),新斯科舍省美术馆副馆长、首席策展人。自2005年加入该馆,菲尔莫尔负责管理省级艺术藏品,以及美术馆的藏品购入、著录、教育、文物保护和展览项目等事务。

莎拉·菲尔莫尔是加拿大新兴艺术家的拥护者,对国内外的加拿大艺术很感兴趣。她曾策划40余次团体及个人展览,包括加拿大抽象画家雅克·赫图比斯(Jacques Hurtubise)的回顾展、《丽莎·利普顿(Lisa Lipton):永远停止》、《皮肤:表面的诱惑》、《大自然的力量》、《最后的边疆》以及2002年至2015年的年度索贝艺术奖(Sobey Art Award)。她与新斯科舍省美术馆的大卫·迪维尼合作策划了《汉森和和索尼伯格:生活方式》、与汉密尔顿美术馆的梅丽莎·贝内特合作策划了《格雷姆·帕特森的的秘密城堡》,以及与纽芬兰公共文化空间The Rooms的米雷尔·伊根(Mireille Eagan)和卡罗琳·斯通(Caroline Stone)合作策划了加拿大现实主义画家玛丽·普拉特(Mary Pratt)的巡回回顾展和相关出版物。最近的项目包括加拿大画家马里恩·瓦沙尔(Marion Wagschal)在蒙特利尔艺术博物馆展出的回顾展,以及居住在哈利法克斯市的画家艾米丽·法兰斯基(Emily Falencki)的个展《我将在阳光下与你见面》,居住在蒙特利尔的版画家米奇·米歇尔(Mitch Mitchell)的大型印刷装置。她的最新项目是合作策划了摄影师泰迪斯·霍洛维尼亚(Thaddeus Holownia)名为《自然的自然》的回顾展。

2007年至2015年,莎拉·菲尔莫尔担任索贝艺术奖评委会主席兼策展人,该奖项是面向40岁及以下的加拿大艺术家的当代艺术奖。她还是众多期刊论文的作者,常在国内外进行演讲。

相关展览

2个月后结束 展览 莫德·刘易斯与加拿大新斯科舍省当代艺术展
微信图片_20191212160126

相关展览

2个月后结束 展览 莫德·刘易斯与加拿大新斯科舍省当代艺术展